What is BTEC travel and Tourism GCSE?

The BTEC Tech Award in Travel and Tourism is a KS4 qualification designed for 14-16 year olds in schools to be taken alongside GCSEs. It is intended for first teaching from September 2018.

What do BTEC do in Travel and Tourism?

What is BTEC Travel and Tourism? A Travel and Tourism BTEC qualification tells potential employers what well-developed skills/attributes you have. For example, research skills, excellent time management, that you are able to work in a team, and that you have the necessary ‘people’ skills to manage others effectively.

What type of BTEC is Travel and Tourism?

The Pearson BTEC International Level 2 qualifications in Travel and Tourism is designed for learners who wish to pursue a career in travel and tourism. Learners can take units in customer service, travel planning, working as a tour guide or hospitality in the travel and tourism industry.


BTEC stands for the Business and Technology Education Council. A BTEC is a qualification that’s based on practical study rather than academic study. … In fact, you can do them alongside your GCSEs and/or A-levels, or you can do a standalone BTEC at college or university.

IMPORTANT:  Can a green card holder be deported for not paying taxes?

What is BTEC Level 3 Travel and Tourism?

The Course

This course will equip you with the ‘whole package’ for a career – or higher level study – in travel, tourism and hospitality. From local to long-haul, from marketing to management, from event planning to eco-tourism – this is a varied and engaging programme enriched by off-site visits and guest speakers.

Is travel and tourism a GCSE?

The CCEA GCSE Leisure, Travel and Tourism specification gives students a broad knowledge and understanding of the leisure, travel and tourism industry, which is one of the fastest growing industries in the world.

How long is the travel and tourism exam?

We have reduced the number of marks in both papers to 80. The duration of both papers has decreased, Paper 1 is now 1 hour 30 minutes, and Paper 2 is now 2 hours. We have revised the mark schemes for both papers.

What are the grades for a BTEC?

There are four grades you can receive in a Btec, a pass (P), merit (M), distinction (D) and distinction* (D*). Pass is the lowest and distinction* is the highest. Depending on the size of your course, you may receive one, two or three grades.

How long is Level 3 Travel and Tourism?

The course will start in September and will take two years to complete.

Which is better GCSE or BTEC?

BTEC are referred to as vocational qualifications while GCSE are referred to as academic qualifications. They are not a bad option,but GCSEs are much preferred by universities and colleges.

Is BTEC harder than GCSE?

BTEC levels one to three are supposed to be equivalent to GCSEs and A-levels. But life is far harder for BTEC students. … A-level students can study three or four different courses and even if they miss out on the highest grades they can still get into university.

IMPORTANT:  Why is electrostatic attraction important?

Are BTECs good?

If you’re ready to decide your career direction, prefer practical learning to lots of theory and do better in continual assessment than exams, then a BTEC could be a good fit for you. However, if you want to keep your options for careers and/or university study as open as possible, A levels may be the best bet.

What is a BTEC Level 3 Extended certificate?

The Level 3 BTEC Extended Diploma is a full time 2 year course of study which will develop specialist knowledge, practical skills and understanding within a vocational area and gives you a qualification which is the equivalent to three A Levels.