Frequent question: What are the nine tourist regions in West Virginia?

As part of that promotional effort, tourism officials have divided the state into nine regions. They are Mid-Ohio Valley, Northern Panhandle, Mountaineer Country, Eastern Panhandle, Potomac Highlands, New River-Greenbrier Valley, Hatfield-McCoy Mountains, Mountain Lakes, and Metro Valley.

Which tourist region contains the southern coalfields?

SOUTHERN WEST VIRGINIA COALFIELDS. (There are also the Elkins, Fairmont, Upper Potomac, and Panhandle coalfields in Northern West Virginia.) This is a presentation of historically significant coal mining towns in Southern West Virginia.

What is the region of West Virginia?

W.V. listen)) is a state in the Appalachian, Mid-Atlantic and Southeastern regions of the United States. It is bordered by Pennsylvania to the northeast, Maryland to the east and northeast, Virginia to the southeast, Kentucky to the southwest, and Ohio to the northwest.

What are the four regions of West Virginia?

Generally, it is divided into four geographical regions: Ohio River Valley, Allegheny Plateau, Allegheny Highlands, and Potomac Section.

Which geographic region of WV is the highest?

Many of the peaks in this area of West Virginia rise to over 4,000 feet above sea level. Spruce Knob, the highest point in West Virginia, rises 4,863 feet above sea level in the Appalachian Ridge and Valley Region.

IMPORTANT:  Is Tourism bad for Italy?

Where are the Potomac Highlands?

listen (help·info)) centers on five West Virginian counties (Grant, Hampshire, Hardy, Mineral, and Pendleton) in the upper Potomac River watershed in the western portion of the state’s Eastern Panhandle, bordering Maryland and Virginia.

How many regions are in West Virginia?

West Virginia is divided up in nine travel regions, each providing their unique take on the history and beauty that the state provides.

How many counties are in West Virginia?

There are 55 counties in West Virginia.

What are the bordering states of West Virginia?

It is bordered by Pennsylvania to the north, Maryland and Virginia to the east, Kentucky to the southwest, and Ohio to the northwest. The state capital is Charleston.